do some self-examinations, people!

February 5, 2010

so I’ve been taking a humane sexuality course just as an elective before I graduate, and it’s been awesome so far. besides the basic anatomy lessons I’ve learned a lot about how to take care of and maintain your health, and one such topic that we recently covered was the issue of doing self-examinations on the breasts/testicles.

not only did I find a lump on my right breast, which I am going to see a doctor about in less than a week’s time (hopefully I’m just paranoid), but I also explained to my 50-something year old dad about how to do testicular self-examinations in the shower…using the combination of an apple and a tapioca pearl from my japanese green milk tea drink to demonstrate. and somehow, it was much less awkward than I thought it would be.

anyway, take care of yourselves and your loved ones, and make sure you’re doing self-examinations or going in to see a doctor about your sexual health! there’s nothing to be embarrassed about – love your bodies!

(ps: if you’d like some more info about how to actually do the self-examinations, drop me a comment or an e-mail and I’ll send a response back, although I wouldn’t be surprised if it was already somewhere on Google)

Leave a Reply

